How the expiration calculator works
Choose your AED and the calculator lists its pads and batteries with the life each maker states. Enter a date for each part you have, and it returns a replace-by date, the time left and an order-by date.
For pads and pad cartridges, enter the expiration or use-by date printed on the package. That date is the one that counts, so the calculator doesn’t try to work it out from a manufacture date.
Batteries come in two kinds. Some print an expiration or use-by date, and you enter it the same way. Others print an install-by date, and the maker gives the battery a set life once it’s in the AED. For those, choose “the day it went into the AED” and the calculator adds the maker’s stated life to that day.
If your AED isn’t listed, choose “Another AED” and enter the dates printed on your own pads and battery. The result works the same way.
When the dates are on screen you can download them as a calendar file, with an order reminder 90 days before each one. It opens in Google Calendar, Apple Calendar and Outlook.
Pad and battery life by AED model
These are the lives each maker states for its own parts, from the documents cited on each model’s page. The date printed on your own part still comes first.
| AED | Adult pads | Battery |
|---|---|---|
| ZOLL AED Plus | CPR-D-padz: 5 years | Set of 10 Duracell CR123 lithium cells: 5 years in the AED (3 years on software older than 5.32) |
| ZOLL AED 3 | CPR Uni-padz: 5 years installed | AED 3 battery pack: Up to 5 years installed (3 years with daily self-tests or Wi-Fi reporting) |
| ZOLL AED Pro | CPR-D-padz: 5 years | Disposable lithium battery pack: 5-year standby life |
| Philips HeartStart OnSite | Adult SMART Pads Cartridge: Use-by date at least 2 years from manufacture | M5070A battery: At least 5 years from manufacture before installing; typically 4 years installed |
| Philips HeartStart FRx | HeartStart SMART Pads II: Use-by date at least 2 years from manufacture | M5070A battery: At least 5 years from manufacture before installing; typically 4 years installed |
| Philips HeartStart FR3 | HeartStart SMART Pads III: Expiration date at least 30 months from manufacture | FR3 primary clinical use battery: Install by the label date; at least 3 years in standby once installed |
| HeartStart FR2 | HeartStart adult defibrillator pads (DP series): Not stated by Philips | M3863A FR2 standard battery: Typically 5 years from manufacture unopened; typically 5 years installed (more than 4) |
| LIFEPAK CR2 | QUIK-STEP electrodes: 4 years | LIFEPAK CR2 lithium battery: 4 years installed (install within 1 year of manufacture); 5 years from manufacture at most |
| LIFEPAK 1000 | EDGE System electrodes with QUIK-COMBO connector and REDI-PAK preconnect system: Not stated by Stryker (at least 18 months left when shipped) | LIFEPAK 1000 lithium battery: 5 years in standby once installed; up to 5 years on the shelf before that |
| LIFEPAK CR Plus | QUIK-PAK electrodes: Typically 2 years (Use By date) | CHARGE-PAK battery charger: Typically 2 years (Use By date) |
| LIFEPAK 500 | Adult pad electrodes: Not stated by Stryker | LIFEPAK 500 lithium sulfur dioxide battery: Not stated by Stryker |
| Cardiac Science Powerheart G5 | Intellisense adult pads: 24 months | Intellisense lithium battery: 4 years installed (5-year shelf life before installation) |
| Cardiac Science Powerheart G3 Plus | Intellisense adult pads: Not stated by ZOLL | Intellisense lithium battery: 4-year guarantee installed (5-year shelf life before) |
| Cardiac Science Powerheart G3 Pro | Intellisense adult pads: Not stated by ZOLL | Intellisense lithium battery: 1-year guarantee installed, per ZOLL's Italian guide (5-year shelf life before) |
| HeartSine samaritan PAD | Pad-Pak: 4 years from manufacture | Inside the Pad-Pak |
| Defibtech Lifeline | Adult Defibrillation Pads: 2.5 years from manufacture | Standard Lithium Battery Pack: 5 years in standby |
| Lifeline VIEW | Adult Defibrillation Pads: 2.5 years from manufacture | Lithium battery pack: 4 years in standby |
| Avive Connect AED | Avive AED Pad Cartridge: 3.5 years (use-by date on the cartridge) | Built in, rechargeable (up to 12 months per charge) |
Each AED model page lists every pad, cartridge and battery for that model with its part number, including child pads and optional batteries.
When to replace a part before its date
A date is the latest a part should stay in service. Two things call for a replacement sooner.
- After any use. Pads are single use, so replace them after a rescue even if no shock was given. See AED pads: expiration and replacement.
- When the AED asks. Each AED tests its own battery and warns when it runs low, by a light, a symbol or beeping. A warning comes before the date. See AED battery replacement and how to read the status indicator.
A monthly check catches both. The monthly AED inspection checklist includes the pad and battery dates and the status indicator.
AED expiration calculator FAQ
Do AED pads expire?
Yes. Every set of AED pads has a use-by date, usually 2 to 5 years after manufacture depending on the model, because the gel that carries the shock dries out. Replace pads before that date and after any use.
How long does an AED battery last?
Usually about 4 to 5 years once installed: 5 years for the ZOLL AED Plus and AED 3 with weekly self-tests, and about 4 years for Philips HeartStart, the LIFEPAK CR2 and the Powerheart G5. Shocks and frequent self-tests shorten it.
How do I check my AED battery?
Look at the status indicator, which shows the result of the last battery self-test, then read the install-by or expiration date on the battery label. A red light, a battery symbol or beeping means it needs replacing.
Does the calculator save the dates I enter?
No. It runs in your browser: the dates you enter aren’t sent to AED Log or anyone else, and they’re gone when you close the page. To keep them, download the calendar file.
How does AED Log know when pads and batteries expire?
Pick the pad or battery from the catalog of 78 parts and its shelf life fills in the expiration date, which you can match to the label. A part that isn't in the catalog takes a typed date.