AED models
AED Models: Pads, Batteries and Maintenance by Model
Pads, batteries, part numbers, shelf lives and upkeep for every AED model in AED Log's catalog, checked in each manufacturer's own documents.
45 days free. No credit card required. Then plans from $114 a year.
AED pad and battery shelf life by model
Pads last about 2 to 5 years and batteries several years, depending on the model. This table lists each AED model in AED Log’s catalog with its adult pads, its child option and its battery, from the manufacturer’s own documents.
| AED | Adult pads | For children | Battery | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ZOLL AED Plus | CPR-D-padz (5 years) | Pedi-padz II (2 years) | Set of 10 Duracell CR123 lithium cells (5 years) | Sold now |
| ZOLL AED 3 | CPR Uni-padz (5 years) | Child Mode with CPR Uni-padz, or Pedi-padz II (2 years) | AED 3 battery pack (5 years) | Sold now |
| ZOLL AED Pro | CPR-D-padz (5 years) | Pedi-padz II (2 years) | Disposable lithium battery pack (5 years) | Sold now |
| Philips HeartStart OnSite | Adult SMART Pads Cartridge (2 years) | M5072A child cartridge (Rx only) | M5070A battery (4 years) | Sold now |
| Philips HeartStart FRx | HeartStart SMART Pads II (2 years) | Infant/Child Key, same pads | M5070A battery (4 years) | Sold now |
| Philips HeartStart FR3 | HeartStart SMART Pads III (30 months) | Infant/Child Key, same pads | FR3 primary clinical use battery (3 years) | Discontinued |
| Philips HeartStart FR2 and FR2+ | HeartStart adult defibrillator pads (DP series) | M3870A child pads | M3863A FR2 standard battery (5 years) | Discontinued |
| LIFEPAK CR2 | QUIK-STEP electrodes (4 years) | Child Mode, same pads | LIFEPAK CR2 lithium battery (4 years) | Sold now |
| LIFEPAK 1000 | EDGE System electrodes with QUIK-COMBO connector and REDI-PAK preconnect system | Infant/Child electrodes (not stated) | LIFEPAK 1000 lithium battery (5 years) | Sold now |
| LIFEPAK CR Plus and EXPRESS | QUIK-PAK electrodes (2 years) | Infant/Child electrodes (not stated) | CHARGE-PAK battery charger (2 years) | Discontinued |
| LIFEPAK 500 | Adult pad electrodes | Infant/Child electrodes, biphasic only | LIFEPAK 500 lithium sulfur dioxide battery | Discontinued |
| Cardiac Science Powerheart G5 | Intellisense adult pads (2 years) | XELAED003 pediatric pads (24 months) | Intellisense lithium battery (4 years) | Sold now |
| Cardiac Science Powerheart G3 Plus | Intellisense adult pads | 9730 pediatric pads (shelf life not published) | Intellisense lithium battery (4 years) | Discontinued |
| Cardiac Science Powerheart G3 Pro | Intellisense adult pads | 9730 pediatric pads (shelf life not published) | Intellisense lithium battery (1 year) | Discontinued |
| HeartSine samaritan PAD 350P, 360P and 450P | Pad-Pak (4 years) | Pediatric-Pak (not stated) | Inside the Pad-Pak | Sold now |
| Defibtech Lifeline and Lifeline AUTO | Adult Defibrillation Pads (30 months) | DDP-200P pads (2.5 years) | Standard Lithium Battery Pack (5 years) | Sold now |
| Defibtech Lifeline VIEW and ECG | Adult Defibrillation Pads (30 months) | DDP-2002 pads (2.5 years) | Lithium battery pack (4 years) | Sold now |
| Avive Connect AED | Avive AED Pad Cartridge (42 months) | Child button, same cartridge | Built in, rechargeable (up to 12 months per charge) | Sold now |
Shelf lives are the manufacturer’s figures; the date printed on your own pads and battery is the one to follow. Pads and batteries are model-specific, so check the part number before you order. Each model’s page has its part numbers, self-test schedule, status indicator, a maintenance checklist and any FDA recalls.
AED models by brand
AED Log’s catalog covers 8 AED brands and 27 models. Where two models share the same pads and battery, such as the Defibtech Lifeline and Lifeline AUTO, they share a page.
ZOLL
- ZOLL AED Plus: Semi-automatic or fully automatic; CPR-D-padz, Pedi-padz II and ten CR123 cells.
- ZOLL AED 3: Semi-automatic, automatic or BLS; CPR Uni-padz for adults and children, and a 5-year battery pack.
- ZOLL AED Pro: Professional AED with ECG display and manual options; CPR-D-padz and a 5-year lithium pack.
Philips (now Heartstream)
- Philips HeartStart OnSite: Over-the-counter AED with snap-in M5071A adult and M5072A child cartridges and the M5070A battery.
- Philips HeartStart FRx: Rugged prescription AED: SMART Pads II for all ages, an Infant/Child Key and the M5070A battery.
- Philips HeartStart FR3: Professional AED in Text and ECG versions; SMART Pads III, an Infant/Child Key and a 12-volt battery.
- Philips HeartStart FR2 and FR2+: Discontinued; HeartStart adult pads, M3870A child pads and the M3863A lithium battery.
Stryker LIFEPAK (formerly Physio-Control)
- LIFEPAK CR2: Fully or semi-automatic; one QUIK-STEP tray for adults and children, and a 4-year lithium battery.
- LIFEPAK 1000: Semi-automatic, for trained responders; REDI-PAK adult pads, child electrodes and a 5-year lithium battery.
- LIFEPAK CR Plus and EXPRESS: Discontinued in 2019; QUIK-PAK pads and the CHARGE-PAK are replaced together about every 2 years.
- LIFEPAK 500: Discontinued; support ended in 2018 and batteries in 2020. Stryker points owners to an FDA-approved AED.
Cardiac Science Powerheart (now ZOLL)
- Cardiac Science Powerheart G5: Automatic or semi-automatic; 24-month Intellisense pads, optional CPR feedback and a 4-year battery.
- Cardiac Science Powerheart G3 Plus: Semi-automatic 9390E or automatic 9390A; 9131 pads, 9730 child pads and a 9146 lithium battery.
- Cardiac Science Powerheart G3 Pro: Professional G3 with ECG display and manual mode; 9131 or 9660 pads and a 9145 or 9144 battery.
HeartSine (Stryker)
- HeartSine samaritan PAD 350P, 360P and 450P: 350P, 360P and 450P share one Pad-Pak that holds the pads and battery; a Pediatric-Pak for children.
Defibtech
- Defibtech Lifeline and Lifeline AUTO: Semi-automatic or fully automatic; DDP-100 pads, DDP-200P child pads and a 5- or 7-year battery pack.
- Defibtech Lifeline VIEW and ECG: Semi-automatic with a video screen; the ECG adds a rhythm view. DDP-2001 pads and a DBP-2003 battery.
Avive
- Avive Connect AED: Fully automatic and connected; one pad cartridge for adults and children, built-in rechargeable battery.
Brand names have moved around. Philips sold its AED business in January 2026, and it now operates as Heartstream. LIFEPAK AEDs were made by Physio-Control, which is now part of Stryker, and Stryker also owns HeartSine. Cardiac Science’s Powerheart AEDs now belong to ZOLL. Each page names the company whose documents we used.
Discontinued AED models
Some AEDs still in service are no longer sold, and a few no longer have pads or batteries made for them. If you own one of these, check that parts are still available, and plan a replacement before they run out.
- Philips HeartStart FR3: Still FDA-approved (since May 2020), but Heartstream's US site doesn't list or support it, and no end-of-sale date has been published.
- Philips HeartStart FR2 and FR2+: Philips stopped taking FR2+ orders on May 18, 2009, announced the end of support on December 31, 2018, and took its last US pad and battery orders on December 31, 2020.
- Philips HeartStart ForeRunner: No longer sold and not on the FDA's list of approved AEDs; neither Philips nor Heartstream has published an end-of-sale or end-of-support date.
- LIFEPAK CR Plus and EXPRESS: Stryker ended US sales of both models on November 27, 2019 and promised service, CHARGE-PAKs and electrodes for each unit's warranty life (8 years for the CR Plus, 5 for the EXPRESS).
- LIFEPAK 500: Parts and repair support ended January 31, 2018, Stryker discontinued its batteries on February 3, 2020, and pads stopped being marketed for it after February 3, 2022.
- Cardiac Science Powerheart G3 Plus: No longer on ZOLL's US AED list, though ZOLL has published no end-of-sale or end-of-support date for models 9390A and 9390E and still posts their quick reference guide.
- Cardiac Science Powerheart G3 Pro: No longer on ZOLL's US AED list; units numbered 9300P-2xx, sold before 2007, lost factory repairs, batteries and pads on January 1, 2016, and ZOLL has published no end date for later units.
- Welch Allyn AED 10: First cleared by the FDA in 2002 as the MRL JumpStart; we found no current Welch Allyn manual, support page or end-of-support notice, and its FDA recalls all closed by 2012.
- Welch Allyn AED 20: First cleared by the FDA in 2000 for MRL, which sold it as the LifeQuest AEDefibrillator; we found no current Welch Allyn manual, support page or end-of-support notice, and its last FDA recall closed in 2011.
The FDA has required premarket approval for every AED and its necessary accessories since 2015. Makers of older, previously cleared pads and batteries had until February 3, 2022 to apply, and the FDA warned that unapproved accessories may stop being available for older AEDs after that. It tells owners of AEDs that aren’t FDA approved to keep them in service until they can replace them with one that is.
How AED Log tracks every AED model
AED Log tracks any AED: pick the brand and model from the built-in catalog, or type it in if it isn’t listed, then record its pads and battery with their dates and get a warning before either expires.
Each AED gets its own record with its serial number, location, responsible person and every pad set and battery, each with its own lot number and expiration date. The monthly inspection asks about the status indicator, the pads and the battery, and failed checks open a corrective action. When the FDA publishes a recall that matches one of your AEDs, AED Log puts a notice on that unit after a person has reviewed the match.
See AED management and pad and battery expiration tracking, or read our guides to AED pad expiration, AED battery replacement and AED recalls.
AED models FAQ
How do I find the right pads for my AED?
Find your AED’s brand and model on its label, then use the part number the manufacturer lists for it. Each AED model page here has the maker’s pad and battery part numbers and shelf lives.
Are AED pads interchangeable between brands?
No. Pads and batteries are made for specific models, and their connectors and electronics differ. Buy the part your AED’s manufacturer lists, from the manufacturer or an authorized distributor.
What happens when an AED model is discontinued?
The maker stops selling it, and later stops supporting it and making its pads and batteries. Keep it in service while parts are available, and plan a replacement before they run out.
What if my AED isn’t listed?
AED Log tracks any AED: pick it from the built-in catalog or type the brand and model in. Plans start at $114 a year for 1 AED.
Track every AED, whatever the model
AED Log tracks each AED's pads, battery and inspections, and alerts the right people before anything lapses.
45 days free. No credit card required. Then plans from $114 a year.