AED model

HeartSine samaritan PAD 350P, 360P and 450P: Pads, Battery and Maintenance

Kyle Nowack, Co-founder of AED Log

By Kyle Nowack

Co-founder, AED Log

Last reviewed October 13, 2026 · 9 min read

Last reviewed against HeartSine’s own manuals and product pages. Always follow the manual that came with your AED and the dates printed on your own pads and battery.

The short answer

All 3 HeartSine samaritan PAD models (350P, 360P and 450P) run on a Pad-Pak (PAD-PAK-01), one cartridge that holds both the pads and the battery and lasts 4 years from manufacture. Children 1 to 8 use the pink Pediatric-Pak (PAD-PAK-02). The AED tests itself weekly, and a green light flashing every 5 to 10 seconds means it's ready.

Key facts

  • Adult Pad-Pak (PAD-PAK-01): pads and battery in one cartridge, good for 4 years from the day it was made.
  • Pediatric-Pak (PAD-PAK-02): for ages 1 to 8 or up to 55 lb (25 kg), giving 50-joule shocks. Stryker doesn't state its shelf life, so go by the printed date.
  • No separate battery: a new Pad-Pak brings a new battery with it.
  • Ready: the status light flashes green every 5 to 10 seconds. A red flash, no light or nonstop beeping means it needs attention.
  • The 350P is sold in the US without a prescription; the 360P and 450P need one.

HeartSine samaritan PAD at a glance

The samaritan PAD is a public-access AED sold in 3 versions, the 350P, 360P and 450P, and made by HeartSine Technologies in Belfast, which is part of Stryker. All 3 take the same Pad-Pak, and the FDA approved them together in January 2017.

HeartSine samaritan PAD 350P, 360P and 450P at a glance, from HeartSine’s documents.
DetailHeartSine samaritan PAD
Made byHeartSine Technologies, Belfast (part of Stryker)
Versions350P and 450P semi-automatic; 360P fully automatic
Adult padsPad-Pak cartridge, 4 years from manufacture
ChildrenPediatric-Pak, ages 1 to 8 or up to 55 lb
BatteryBuilt into each Pad-Pak and Pediatric-Pak
Self-testWeekly, on Sunday, and when a Pad-Pak goes in
Ready indicatorGreen light flashing every 5 to 10 seconds
CPR helpMetronome on all 3; rate feedback on the 450P only
Standby range32 to 122°F (0 to 50°C)
FDA approvalJanuary 12, 2017 (P160008)

The 3 models look alike and take the same cartridges. The 350P and 450P are semi-automatic, so the rescuer pushes the orange shock button on command. The 360P is fully automatic: it counts down aloud, shocks on its own, and uses the pads to sense movement so it can warn people to stand clear. All 3 play a CPR metronome and flash a light at the compression pace. Only the 450P's CPR Rate Advisor reads the rescuer's actual rate through the pads and asks for faster or slower compressions.

In the US, the 350P is sold over the counter, the 360P and 450P need a doctor's order, and the 450P isn't sold outside the US and Japan. Each model comes with or without Wi-Fi, which reports readiness to Stryker's LIFELINKcentral AED program manager. The AED weighs 2.4 lb (1.1 kg) with a Pad-Pak, is rated IP56, and carries an 8-year warranty that HeartSine treats as its service life.

samaritan PAD 350P, samaritan PAD 360P and samaritan PAD 450P: how they differ

  • samaritan PAD 350P: Semi-automatic, with an orange shock button for the rescuer to press, and the only one of the 3 sold in the US without a prescription.
  • samaritan PAD 360P: Fully automatic: it counts down 3, 2, 1 out loud and shocks by itself, and warns people not to touch the patient if it senses movement first; prescription required.
  • samaritan PAD 450P: Semi-automatic like the 350P, plus CPR Rate Advisor, which tells the rescuer to push faster or slower on adults; prescription required, and sold only in the US and Japan.

HeartSine samaritan PAD pads

The samaritan PAD uses the Pad-Pak, a single-use cartridge holding the adult pads and the battery together. The adult Pad-Pak is PAD-PAK-01, and Stryker says it keeps for 4 years, counted from the day it was made.

The adult Pad-Pak (PAD-PAK-01) is gray and is meant for patients older than 8 or heavier than 55 lb (25 kg). Its expiration date is printed on the back as YYYY-MM-DD, and that single date covers the pads and the battery inside. For airlines, HeartSine offers PAD-PAK-07, an adult Pad-Pak certified for use on board commercial aircraft.

Don't install a Pad-Pak whose pouch is open or damaged, since the gel inside may have dried. When fitting one, leave the green tab alone: it opens the electrode drawer. Keeping the AED colder than 32°F (0°C) or hotter than 122°F (50°C) can shorten a Pad-Pak's shelf life, and the cartridge is single-use, so a new one goes in after every rescue.

Using the HeartSine samaritan PAD on children

Yes. For a child aged 1 to 8, or weighing up to 55 pounds (25 kg), fit the pink Pediatric-Pak (PAD-PAK-02) in place of the adult Pad-Pak; the AED then gives 50-joule shocks and announces a child patient when it's turned on.

For a child aged 1 to 8, or one weighing up to 55 lb (25 kg), take out the gray Pad-Pak and fit the pink Pediatric-Pak (PAD-PAK-02). With it in place, every shock is 50 joules instead of the adult 150, 150 and 200, and the AED says Child patient when you switch it on. If there's no Pediatric-Pak to hand, HeartSine says to use the adult Pad-Pak rather than delay treatment. Neither one is for babies under 1 year.

On the 450P, CPR Rate Advisor turns itself off with a Pediatric-Pak installed; if an adult Pad-Pak is used on a child, ignore its rate prompts. The Pediatric-Pak contains a magnet, so store it away from magnetic media. Stryker doesn't state a shelf life for the Pediatric-Pak, so track the expiration date printed on it.

For the general rules on child pads, ages and placement, see our guide to pediatric AED pads.

HeartSine samaritan PAD battery

The samaritan PAD has no separate battery. Every Pad-Pak and Pediatric-Pak carries its own non-rechargeable lithium battery, so fitting a new cartridge gives you fresh pads and a fresh battery at once.

Each Pad-Pak and Pediatric-Pak contains its own non-rechargeable 18-volt lithium manganese dioxide battery. A new Pad-Pak gives more than 60 shocks at 200 joules or about 6 hours of use, and HeartSine rates one that has reached 4 years at more than 10 shocks. Because the battery is dated with the pads, you track one expiration date instead of two.

If the AED says Warning low battery, it still works, but fewer than 10 shocks may be left, so have a spare Pad-Pak ready to swap in. After a rescue, HeartSine says to cut the pad wires, stick the pads together and treat them as infectious waste, then recycle the lithium battery separately under local rules.

How other models compare is in our AED battery replacement guide.

HeartSine samaritan PAD part numbers and shelf life

Samaritan PAD owners replace whole Pad-Paks, not separate pads and batteries. Here are HeartSine's part numbers and shelf lives for the cartridges that fit all 3 models.

Replacement parts for the HeartSine samaritan PAD 350P, 360P and 450P, with HeartSine’s part numbers and shelf lives (checked October 13, 2026). Go by the date printed on your own parts.
PartPart numberShelf lifeReplace
Pad-Pak
Patients over 8 or over 55 lb; pads and battery in one cartridge (gray)
PAD-PAK-014 years from manufactureBy the expiration date on the back, or after any use
Pediatric-Pak
Children 1 to 8 or up to 55 lb; child pads and battery in one cartridge (pink)
PAD-PAK-02Not stated by Stryker or HeartSineBy the expiration date printed on it, or after any use
Aviation Pad-Pak
Adult Pad-Pak certified for use on commercial aircraft
PAD-PAK-07Not stated by Stryker or HeartSineBy the expiration date printed on it, or after any use

AED Log's catalog lists HeartSine's Pediatric-Pak as "Pediatric Pad-Pak". Standard AED simulators and training manikins can't test HeartSine units, so ask HeartSine or a distributor if you need one tested.

Need replacements? Total AEDs, AED Log’s sister store, sells pads and the AED itself for the HeartSine samaritan PAD. Any authorized distributor works; the FDA advises buying AED accessories only from authorized sources.

HeartSine samaritan PAD self-test and status indicator

The samaritan PAD tests itself once a week, on Sunday. Its status light flashes green every 5 to 10 seconds when it's ready; a red flash, no light or a beep that won't stop means it needs attention.

The AED runs its self-test every Sunday, and also whenever a Pad-Pak is inserted. HeartSine's manuals disagree on the hour: the 2022 350P manual says 7 p.m. Eastern, while the 360P and 450P manuals say midnight GMT. While the test runs, the status light blinks red, and it goes back to green if the test passes.

If the light flashes red, goes dark, or the AED beeps without stopping, check the Pad-Pak's expiration date first, then switch the AED on and listen for its warnings. 3 quick beeps while it's off mean it's colder than 32°F (0°C) or hotter than 122°F (50°C); move it somewhere within range and make sure the beeping stops. If it got below freezing in transit, give it at least 24 hours back in range before relying on it.

If the indicator ever shows a problem, our guide to AED self-test failures and status lights covers what to do first.

HeartSine samaritan PAD maintenance checklist

HeartSine says the samaritan PAD needs no servicing because it tests itself weekly, but owners should still check the status light every week, look over the AED and the Pad-Pak date monthly, and do a power-on check every 3 months.

  • Weekly: the status light flashes green every 5 to 10 seconds, with no red flash and no beeping.
  • Monthly: the case has no cracks, and the Pad-Pak's electrode drawer (green tab) is undamaged and closes properly.
  • Monthly: the Pad-Pak's expiration date on the back hasn't passed and isn't close; replace it if it is.
  • Every 3 months: turn the AED on, listen for the voice prompts, turn it off and confirm the green flash returns (HeartSine's 2024 maintenance supplement).
  • Any Pediatric-Pak kept with the AED is sealed and within its printed date.
  • The AED stays between 32 and 122°F (0 and 50°C).

After the HeartSine samaritan PAD is used

  1. Fit a new Pad-Pak, or a new Pediatric-Pak if a child's was used.
  2. Clean the AED with soapy water or 70% isopropyl alcohol if needed, and check it for damage.
  3. Confirm the status light flashes green.
  4. Dispose of the used pads as infectious waste and recycle the battery separately.
  5. Send the event data to Stryker (downloaded with Saver EVO software and USB cable PAD-ACC-02); you may qualify for a free replacement Pad-Pak.

Print our free AED inspection checklist to record each check, or read the full AED maintenance guide.

HeartSine samaritan PAD recalls

The FDA's recall database lists a number of recalls of the 350P, 360P and 450P and of Pad-Pak cartridges, and several were still open when we checked. Compare your serial number and Pad-Pak lot with the notices below.

FDA recalls that cover the HeartSine samaritan PAD or its accessories, newest first. From the FDA’s Medical Device Recall database, checked October 12, 2026.
DateProductClassWhat it’s about and what to doStatusFDA record
Jul 27, 2026samaritan PAD 350P, 360P, 450PIIAn internal fault can leave the AED unable to charge or shock. Check your serial number in HeartSine’s recall lookup.OpenZ-3120-2026
Jul 27, 2026samaritan PAD 350P, 360P, 450PIIISome units shipped without a required maintenance supplement. Check your serial number (choose “AED + Pad-Pak”) and keep the insert with the manual.OpenZ-3270-2026
Sep 18, 2025Pad-Pak cartridgesIIBent locator pins can affect the cartridge’s fit and contact. Check the pins and the expiry date, and respond online.OpenZ-0288-2026
Jun 30, 2025samaritan PAD 350P, 360P, 450P (some serial numbers)IIA circuit-board issue can make the AED fail while charging or shocking. Check your serial number; Stryker says to keep using the unit if you have no other AED.OpenZ-2174-2025
Apr 8, 2024samaritan PAD 350P, 360P, 450PIIVoice prompts can stop working. Insert an in-date Pad-Pak, press On and listen; call support if there’s no prompt.OpenZ-1820-2024
Feb 14, 2024samaritan PAD (12 units)IIUnits shipped in a test configuration. Return the acknowledgment form.OpenZ-1141-2024
Apr 26, 2023Pad-Pak cartridges (specific lots)IIDepleted battery cells can leave no power to shock. Check your lot numbers for a free replacement.OpenZ-2143-2023
Feb 1, 2023samaritan PAD 350P, 360P, 500P (13 units)IIWrong voice-prompt language. Run the language check in the notice.OpenZ-1217-2023
Jan 13, 2022samaritan PAD 350P (1 unit)IIIShipped without its Pad-Pak.Closed 2023Z-0745-2022
Jun 12, 2014Pad-Pak and Pedi-Pak (listed lots) for the samaritan PAD 300P and 350PIISome sealed pad pouches were hard to open, which could delay treatment. Affected lots were returned through distributors for replacements.Closed 2015Z-2115-2014

Every AED recall, by manufacturer, is on our AED recall list.

How AED Log tracks the HeartSine samaritan PAD

In AED Log you pick the HeartSine samaritan PAD from the built-in catalog, record its pads and battery with their lot numbers and dates, and get a warning before either expires, plus a monthly inspection reminder.

Each pad set and battery is its own record with its own expiration date, so a Pad-Pak never lapses unnoticed. Choose the part from the catalog and its shelf life fills in the expiration date for you; you can always type the date printed on the package instead. Alerts go out by email, Slack, Teams or Discord to the people responsible for that site, and the monthly inspection checklist asks about the status indicator, the pads and the battery. See pad and battery expiration tracking and AED management for more, or see every AED model.

The pads and batteries on an AED in AED Log, each with its lot number, installed date, expiration date and status, above the unit's inspection schedule
An AED’s pads and batteries in AED Log, each with its lot number, installed date and expiration date.

HeartSine samaritan PAD FAQ

How long do HeartSine samaritan PAD pads last?

The adult Pad-Pak (PAD-PAK-01) is good for 4 years after it's made, and its expiration date is printed on the back. Stryker doesn't state a shelf life for the Pediatric-Pak, so go by its printed date. Replace either one after any use.

How long does the HeartSine samaritan PAD battery last?

The battery is inside the Pad-Pak, so it lasts as long as the Pad-Pak does: 4 years from manufacture for the adult Pad-Pak. A new one gives more than 60 shocks, and there's no other battery to order or keep track of.

Can you use the HeartSine samaritan PAD on a child?

Yes. For a child aged 1 to 8, or weighing up to 55 lb (25 kg), use the pink Pediatric-Pak (PAD-PAK-02), which limits each shock to 50 joules. If none is available, HeartSine says to use the adult Pad-Pak rather than wait.

Do you need a prescription for the HeartSine samaritan PAD?

In the US, the 350P is sold without a prescription. The 360P and 450P need one: federal law limits their sale to physicians or buyers with a physician's order.

What's the difference between the HeartSine 350P, 360P and 450P?

The 350P is semi-automatic, the 360P shocks by itself after a spoken countdown, and the 450P is semi-automatic with CPR Rate Advisor feedback. All 3 use the same Pad-Pak and Pediatric-Pak.

Keep every AED ready

AED Log tracks inspections, pads, batteries, certifications and incidents for every AED, whatever the brand.

45 days free. No credit card required. Then plans from $114 a year.